Nevada State Board of Cosmetology
Public Workshop — August 18, 2014
Proposed Changes to NAC 644.700.2

1.

The Nevada State Board of Cosmetology is concerned with
a number of extremely important matters in their duty to
protect the public. The current interpretation of Nevada
Administrative Code Chapter 644 Section 2 dealing with
sanitation violations is troublesome in that there are no time
constraints or evaluation of severity on the issuance of a
second sanitation violation.

If a licensee was issued a sanitation violation for reusing a
single use item (nail file) 10 years ago and then is issued
another violation for reusing a single use item (nail file)
today, the Executive Director has no choice (based on a
recent interpretation of the regulations by the Deputy
Attorney General) but to bring them for a disciplinary
hearing before the board.

The Board is similar to the Supreme Court in that they are
concerned with major issues that they alone can remedy.
Just as the Supreme Court does not hear minor traffic
violations, the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology should
not be hearing minor sanitation violations unless they cross
some severity threshold, or refuse to come into compliance
by the issuance of citations.

The Executive Director and staff of the Nevada State Board
of Cosmetology request approval to hold workshops and
schedule a public hearing for the proposed changes to NAC
644.700.2.

. The current requirement for students to wear a white

garment to perform their practical test is both antiquated
and is an unnecessary financial burden on the students. The
Executive Director and staff request approval to hold
workshops and schedule a public hearing on the proposed
changes to NAC 644.053.8.

The Board previously instructed staff to move forward with
regulations changes to allow the reduction in reexamination
fees from $110 to $75. The Executive Director and staff
request approval to hold workshops and schedule a public
hearing on the proposed changes to NAC 644.062.7.
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1 2. A licensee who violates a provision of NAC 644.307 to
644.355, inclusive, will be fined not more than $100 for the
first violation or subsequent violations, unless in the judgment
of the Executive Dirvector, such violations warrant a
disciplinary hearing before the Board.

| 3. A person who violates a provision of this chapter or chapter
| 644 of NRS for which this section does not provide a specific

{ fine, including, without limitation, a second or subsequent
violation, may be:

| () Ordered to appear at a disciplinary hearing before the

| Board; and

(b) Punished by the Board as set forth in NRS 644.430.

| NAC 644.053 Examinations: General requirements; notice of
esults of written examination. (NRS 644.110, 644.210)

| 1.When an applicant for licensure in any branch of cosmetology
| registers for the written examination, he must submit to the

| Board:

(a) If the applicant attended a school of cosmetology
that is located in this State, an original record of
completion of the required courses of training and a
copy of the final time record for the courses studied;

(b) If the applicant attended a school of cosmetology
that is located outside of this State, including, without
limitation, a school of cosmetology that is located
outside of the United States, a letter or record from the
governmental agency, if any, that regulates such schools
in the appropriate jurisdiction which verifies that the
student completed courses of training and attended a
number of hours per subject that are comparable to the
requirements in this State; or

(c) If the applicant received his training pursuant to
NRS 644.217 and 644.2175 and NAC 644.151 to
644.181, inclusive, as a cosmetologist’s apprentice, a
copy of the final report submitted to the Board, pursuant
to NAC 644.167, by the licensed cosmetologist who
supervised and trained the apprentice.

2. Any hours taken at a school of cosmetology that is located
outside of the United States are subject to the approval of the
Board for the purposes of determining whether the training
received is equivalent to the training which the applicant would
have received at a school of cosmetology located in the United
States.

3. The Board or its designee will send an acceptance letter to
each applicant for the written examination. On the designated




Nevada State Board of Cosmetology
Public Workshop — August 18, 2014
Proposed Changes to NAC 644.700.2

day and time of the written or practical examination, the
applicant must present the acceptance letter and his picture
identification at the location where the examination is being
given for admittance into the examination. An applicant who
fails to bring his acceptance letter and picture identification:

(a) Will be denied entrance to the examination;
(b) Forfeits any fees paid to take the examination; and
(¢} Must reregister before taking the examination.

4. The Board or its designee will notify the applicant and, if the
applicant attended a school of cosmetology, the school of the
results of his written examination and his percentage score not
later than 3 weeks after the date of the written examination or,
if the examination is graded by a testing company, as soon as
the results are available from the testing company, whichever
occurs later.

5. Each applicant must be on time to take the examination. Any
applicant who arrives late:

(a) Will be denied entrance to the examination;
(b) Forfeits any fees paid to take the examination; and
{c) Must reregister before taking the examination.

6. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 7, each applicant
for licensure as a nail technologist, cosmetologist, hair designer,
electrologist or aesthetician must bring to the examination a
model or mannequin and all equipment required for the
examination. The applicant must be able to complete the
examination on the model or mannequin brought for the
examination. An applicant who fails to bring a model or
mannequin and all required equipment to the examination:

(a} Will be denied entrance to the examination;

(b) Forfeits any fees paid to take the examination; and
(c) Must reregister before taking the examination.

7. An applicant may rent a supply kit for the examination
directly from a company that makes such kits. The Board will
not set or accept any fees for renting supply kits.

8. While taking an examination, each applicant must wear clean
outer garments and adequate footwear|—neluding shoes;-that
are-atl-white]. No applicant will be required to wear a smock
during the examination.,

NAC 644.062 Examination. (NRS 644.110, 644.220) The
fees for certain examinations required pursuant to subsection 1
of NRS 644.220 are:

1. For examination as a cosmetologist, $110.

2. For examination as an electrologist, $110.

| 3. For examination as a nail technologist, $110,
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For examination as an aesthetician, $110.
For examination as a hair designer, $110.
For examination as an instructor, $110.
For each reexamination, §75[$+361.
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